Covid 19 aka Coronavirus


Following the co-option of David Boothman in February 2020, we now have 10 councillors, so there are no vacancies!

New war memorial site

Thank you so much to the group of volunteers who gave up so much of their own time and made such an effort to create a beautiful and fitting tribute to the fallen on the 100th anniversary of the end of the first world war.

Thanks also to the very kind donation of £200 from Steve Meredith, £1,000 from Majestic Trees and the anonymous donation of £500 that enabled the purchase of some of the materials and, along with the £1,000 granted from Terry Douris’s locality budget and £1,000 from Parish Council funds enabled the completion of the project.

The memorial was looking somewhat bleak, but thanks to artistic talents of Alison Lloyd, and the team of helpers led by Steve McCurdy, it has been transformed into a fitting centenary tribute. Machinery and equipment was kindly supplied by Majestic Trees and after many weeks of hard toil the project was completed on the 10th Nov 2018, ready for armistice day.

Volunteers include (in no particular order):

  • Members of Majestic Trees staff (Nick Wilde, Carl Batchelor and Iain Heaslip)
  • Tom Saunders
  • Bill Robinson
  • Dave Humphreys
  • Wally Greensmith
  • John Williams
  • Tom & Claire at The Spotted Dog
  • Jane Timmis
  • Christopher White
  • Monica Carrera from The Coffee Dog, who also kept volunteers well topped up with warm drinks.

The war memorial as it was




And in its beautifully renewed state



I think we can all agree that the goodwill and kindness of people in this village are what makes it such a great place to live, and I hope you will join us in thanking them profusely for transforming the site in such a fitting manner.


The next Annual Parish Meeting is on 27 April 2020 at the church.

Everyone is welcome to come along as this is the main opportunity you have to discuss matters that concern/interest you with the Council.

I am text block. Click edit button to change this text. Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Ut elit tellus, luctus nec ullamcorper mattis, pulvinar dapibus leo.